Departure

Finally the benevolent Peace Corps deigned to inform me of my departure date.

I leave Chicago February 2nd, and fly to Philadelphia. I spend about 24 hours in Philly, receive shots and sign my life away to the federal government.  Then PC drives me to JFK in New York. We fly from NYC to Dakar, Senegal (I’m so excited!! I hope i am allowed off the plane!!) From there it’s a straight shot to South Africa. I arrive February 4th.

I am soo happy to know when i am finally leaving, after 18 months in limbo, but now the nerves have kicked in.  When i’m alone at night, trying to fall asleep, it feels like someone has put my rib cage in a vice.  I have to remind myself to take deep breaths, otherwise it feels like I am drowning.

I have met one girl that I am going to be in SA with; she lives about 15-20 minutes away, so we have met up a few times. She’s really nice, and we seem to be on the same wavelength.  The problem (on my end, of course) is that when i put myself into situations like this…meeting someone new in some sort of prearranged form that I know I have see for awhile, i feel like i have to be a certain way. Things don’t develop naturally. It’s like dating haha! I think everything will be ok though. Soon it will be more than just the two of us in this situation, so there will be a lot less pressure.

I haven’t “officially” started packing, but i have a pile of stuff at the end of my bed (classy!).

  • I am buying some new clothes…I think a lot of people will think that sounds stupid…but those people also don’t understand how Africa works. Just because you are poor by world economic standards doesn’t mean that Africans dont value looking nice. I am going to be working, not camping. I am not showing up on the continent with $2 t-shirts from salvation army. Not that there is anything wrong with such purchases, it is simply not the bulk of my clothing.
  • I also spent over $200 at Target on medicine and other essentials. And i am not even finished yet. I bought stuff like deodorant, tylenol PM, day/ nyquil, etc. I still have to buy some feminine hygiene items (yay)
  • I am bringing one pair of jeans. That’s singular. The rest of my clothes will be skirts.
  • I am a little confused about how many sweaters etc i should bring. I am going to pack some up and have my parents ship them to me in a few months. I know I will adjust to the weather, but do i need sweater sweaters?? Or just a few long sleeved tops?? Bah! Regardless, i have to pack a few warm pieces for Philly, so i guess its ok.

Well, I think that’s all for now!

Leave a comment